Mixed Doubles teams selected for YOG 2016

  • Mixed Doubles teams meet for first time Photo: WCF / Richard Gray

Following the conclusion of the Mixed event at the Youth Olympic Games (YOG) today in Lillehammer, Norway, the Mixed Doubles teams that will compete during the remainder of the Games were selected.

A total of 32 teams were put together, with one female player from one National Olympic Committee and a male player from another NOC. This unique competition complements the International Olympic Committee's 'Learn & Share' programme at the Games, which aims to make the YOG an educational experience for the athletes.

The Mixed Doubles competition will begin at 09.00 (Central European Time) on Friday (19 February). The event is a straight knock-out, with the finals being played on Sunday 21 February at 13.00 (CET).

The teams are determined by the athletes’ position within their team and their nations overall position at the end of the Mixed competition. The teams are:

Team 1: Honoka Sasaki (JPN) & Tyler Tardi (CAN)
Team 2: Any Bryce (GBR) & Martin Blahovec (CZE)
Team 3: Beyzanur Konuksever (TUR) & Luca Rizzolli (ITA)
Team 4: Kristin Laidsalu (EST) & Sergei Maksimov (RUS)
Team 5: Courtney Smith (NZL) & Henwy Lochmann (SUI)
Team 6: Maia Ramsfjell (NOR) & Hogeon Kim (KOR)
Team 7: Jenny Jonasson (SWE) & Hongrui Du (CHN)
Team 8: Giovanna Barros (BRA) & Ben Richardson (NZL)
Team 9: Mary Fay (CAN) & Elian Sabra Rochas (BRA)
Team 10: Yu Han (CHN) & Ross Whyte (GBR)
Team 11: Su Yun Oh (KOR) & Tunc Esenboga (TUR)
Team 12: Mariia Arkhipova (RUS) & Matthew Neilson (NZL)
Team 13: Selina Whitschonke (SUI) & Jarl Gustsin (EST)
Team 14: Martina Ghezze (ITA) & Michael Mellemseter (NOR)
Team 15: Kristina Pordrabska (CZE) & Anton Degerfeldt (SWE)
Team 16: Cait Flannery (USA) & Kota Ito (JPN)
Team 17: Karlee Burgess (CAN) & Eiko-Siim Peips (EST)
Team 18: Stefania Constantini (ITA) & Callum Kinnear (GBR)
Team 19: Andrea Krupanska (CZE) & Oguzhan Karakurt (TUR)
Team 20: Nadezhda Karelina (RUS) & Kosuke Aita (JPN)
Team 21: Laura Engler (SUI) & Victor Cesar Da Cunha Santos (BRA)
Team 22: Ruiyi Zhao (CHN) & Andreas Haarstad (NOR)
Team 23: Jiyoung Lee (KOR) & Johan Nygren (SWE)
Team 24: Cora Farrell (USA) & Ben Smith (NZL)
Team 25: Holly Thompson (NZL) & Sterling Middleton (CAN)
Team 26: Mili Smith (GBR) & Jun Yeong Hong (KOR)
Team 27: Berivan Polat (TUR) & Wenxin Zhang (CHN)
Team 28: Raissa Rodrigues (BRA) & German Doronin (RUS)
Team 29: Yako Matsuzawa (JPN) & Philipp Hoesli (SUI)
Team 30: Eline Mjoen (NOR) & Pavel Mares (CZE)
Team 31: Tova Petterson (SWE) & Alberto Zisa (ITA)
Team 32: Britta Sillaots (EST) & Luc Violette (USA)

Curling fans can follow all the action from Lillehammer 2016 on social media using the following channels:

Twitter/Instagram: www.twitter.com/worldcurling ;
Facebook: www.facebook.com//WorldCurlingFederation ;
YouTube: www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL_Fr_yXnOHvi0qIibzUEUi0EQf4orufXQ ;