World Curling Hall of Fame

Induction into the World Curling Hall of Fame is the highest ‘non-playing’ honour that the World Curling Federation can bestow on someone and recognises outstanding contribution to the sport of curling whether through on ice exploits or off ice endeavours.

2012 was the first year the WCF accepted nominations for this honour.

Previously, the WCF presented the World Curling Freytag Award to recognise outstanding contribution to the sport.

Inductees into the World Curling Hall of Fame are presented with the Freytag Medal to mark their induction.

Previous winners of the Elmer Freytag Award and the World Curling Freytag Award have all been inducted to the World Curling Hall of Fame.

There are two classes of honour:

Curler: Demonstrated World Championship level playing ability, sportsmanship and character, and who has achieved extraordinary distinction and outstanding results in the sport of curling.

Builder: Given distinguished service and has made a major contribution to the development and advancement of curling internationally.

There is no requirement to induct members into the Hall of Fame each year, the honour will bestowed on merit.

 Hall of Fame Nomination Form
 Hall of Fame Nomination Information 2019
 Nomination Criteria
Some files may require programs or viewers to open or view the download: Acrobat Reader


World Curling Hall of Fame
Year Curler/Builder Award Recipient/Country
2019 Curler Dordi Nordby, Norway
2019 Builder Ian Michael Thomson, Scotland
2019 Builder Michael Burns, Sr., Canada (posthumously)
2018 Curler Kevin Martin, Canada
2018 Builder Elmer Freytag, United States (posthumously)
2018 Builder Young C. Kim, Korea
2017 Builder Shorty Jenkins, Canada (posthumously)
2017 Curler(s) Ernie, Arnold, Garnet and Wes Richardson, Canada
2016 Builder Warren Hansen, Canada
2016 Curler Elisabeth Högström, Sweden
2016 Builder Franco Zumofen, Italy
2015 Curler Russ Howard, Canada
2015 Builder Ray Turnbull, Canada
2015 Builder Hiroyuki Saito, Japan
2014 Curler Randy Ferbey, Canada
2014 Curler Patrick Huerlimann, Switzerland
2014 Curler Eigil Ramsfjell, Norway
2013 Curler Don Duguid, Canada
2013 Curler Ron Northcott, Canada
2012 Builder Gunther Hummelt, Austria (posthumously)
2012 Builder Jean-Paul Bidaud, Switzerland
2012 Curler Elisabet Gustafson, Sweden
World Curling Freytag Award Recipients
Year Curler/Builder Award Recipient/Country
2011 Builder Ray Kingsmith, Canada (posthumously)
2010 Builder Malcolm Richardson, Scotland
2009 Curler Sandra Schmirler, Canada (posthumously)
2008 Builder Leslie Ingram-Brown, Scotland
2007 Builder Roy Sinclair, Scotland
2006 Builder Kunio Nando, Japan
2004/2005 Not awarded
2003 Builder Bob Whitehead, United States (posthumously)
2002 Builder Franz Tanner, Switzerland
2001 Builder Shirley Morash, Canada
Curler Raymond (Bud) Somerville, United States
2000 Builder Bob Hardy, United States
Curler Ernie Richardson, Canada
1998/1999 Not awarded
1997 Erwin Sautter, Switzerland
1996 Elizabeth Paterson-Brown, Scotland
1995 Not awarded
1994 Keith Wendorf, Germany
1991/92/93 Not awarded
Elmer Freytag Award Recipients
Year Award recipient/Country
1990 Colin Campbell, Canada (posthumously)
1989 Don McKay, United States
1988 Kay Sugahara, United States
1987 Bob Picken, Canada
1986 Art Cobb, United States
1985 Don McLeod, Canada
1984 Robin Welsh, Scotland
1983 Mabel Deware, Canada
1982 Sven Eklund, Sweden
1981 Doug Maxwell, Canada
1980 Bob Grierson, Scotland
1979 Chuck Hay, Scotland
1978 Ken Watson, Canada

In This Section

Ferbey, Huerlimann and Ramsfjell inducted into World Curling Hall of Fame

The World Curling Federation (WCF) announced today that Canada’s Randy Ferbey, Switzerland’s Patrick Huerlimann and Norway’s Eigil Ramsfjell were inducted into the World Curling ...MORE

Duguid and Northcott inducted into World Curling Hall of Fame

Two of Canada’s most accomplished curlers will be inducted into the World Curling Hall of Fame, it was announced today by the World Curling Federation (WCF) and Canadian Curling Association ...MORE